Last chance for teams to enter playdowns

Last chance for teams to enter playdowns

Teams hoping to earn one of the last berths for the 2018 belairdirect BC Men’s Curling Championship have until Christmas Eve to register.

The deadline to register for the second open men’s playdown, taking place at Abbotsford Curling Club, from Jan. 5-7 is Dec. 24. Any men’s team from across BC can enter the playdown.

Spectators are welcome to attend to see some of the best men curlers in BC on their way to the 2018 belairdirect BC Men’s Curling Championship, presented by Berwick Retirement Communities, taking place Jan. 31-Feb. 4 at Parksville Curling Club.

If you have a men’s curling team, this is a great opportunity to play against some top teams. And for the first time, four berths will be available at this time of year, so there will be plenty of opportunities for success.

The cost of entering playdowns is about $100 per player, which gives you the chance to play in a BC championship with the best in the province. It also gives you the chance to win prize money, ranging from $800 for first place to $400 for third place.

Curl BC will not charge a competitors’ fee for people entering BC playdowns for the first time, a savings of approximately $40 per curler.
The winner of the Parksville event will represent BC at the 2018 Tim Hortons Brier in Regina Mar. 3-11.

To register for the BC Men’s playdowns, visit
Curling playdowns in Vernon, Cranbrook and Victoria have seen a total of five men’s teams earn berths.

In the Kootenay playdowns, Team Medford took the single berth that was available. Team Medford from Cranbrook Curling Centre features skip Chris Medford, third Steve Tersmette, second Josh Firman and lead Jeff Langin.

The Victoria playdowns saw two local rinks earn the qualification spots. Team Montgomery, featuring Jason Montgomery, Cameron de Jong, Miles Craig and Will Duggan, took the A Event berth. The team is representing Victoria but Montgomery lives in Duncan and Miles Craig hails from Shawnigan Lake.

The B Event berth went to Team Wes Craig. The team, which plays at the senior (50+) level as well, features third Gerald Poelman, second Tony Anslow and lead Victor Gamble. They play as a team in Victoria but Craig, who lives in Shawnigan Lake, has connections to the Kerry Park Curling Club in Mill Bay as well.

At the Vernon Curling Club, where two berths were up for grabs, a team from the Lower Mainland took the A Event berth. Team Pierce, from Royal City Curling Club, features Brent Pierce, a former world champion (2000), third Andrew Bilesky, second Steve Kopf, lead Rhys Gamache and fifth Derek Errington. Bilesky, Kopf and Errington were BC men’s champions in 2013. The Okanagan rink of Chris Baier took the B Event spot. The team features third Adam Cseke, second Matt Tolley and lead Cal Jackson.

The five men’s teams who qualified over the weekend will join Team Geall, from Kelowna Curling Club, and Team Joanisse, from Golden Ears Winter Club in Maple Ridge, and who qualified at the end of November because they were the top-ranked BC men’s teams on the CTRS list.

The 2018 belairdirect BC Men’s Curling Championship will also feature the defending champions, Team Morris, as long as the team can return with three out of four of the players who played last year.

Tickets to the 2018 belairdirect BC Men’s can now be purchased online at